Another 5K, you say? Ah, go on then

Image

So, after the recent success of my 8K, I was planning to move onwards and upwards to the 10K in October.  However, the inaugural ODU Big Blue 5K came to our attention and was too good an opportunity to miss.  For our entry fee, we got to see a college baseball game the night before the race (and it’s true what they say about the excellence of college sports; we saw so much more action in this one game than in all the major and minor league ones we have seen in the past), plus a college football game after the race and as much food and beer as we could manage.  I always like it when my money goes towards things to reward me at the end of my race, rather than towards mud or paint to pelt me with during the race.

It was an uncharacteristically boiling April day, with temperatures hovering around 28c, so I was glad of the water stops along the route (although not quite as glad as the husband was to see the ODU cheerleaders along the route ….).  I finished in a time of 28:12, which is somewhere around my personal best (I’m a bit hazy on my record-keeping); I came 368th out of 1863 finishers, and 110th out of 1069 females.  A spectacular day out in all respects.

Categories: Sport | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Another 5K, you say? Ah, go on then

  1. This whole event looks like so much fun. What an awesome event!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

veganrunnernerd

My imperfect journey to a cruelty-free life

agurlontherun

Running is as simple as one foot in front of the other, but it's not easy

Laura Runs a Latte

Plant-Powered Running and Recipes - (m)EatLess, RunMore!

Amuse Your Bouche

Simple vegetarian recipes

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

WalkJogRun

Everything a runner needs

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Whole Family On A Budget

Family, Food, Love in style and grace.

sick of being a fat ass ...

I got sick of being a fat ass...so I did something about it...

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

Two Fat Vegetarians

Twee-free veggies

JACK MONROE

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP & MORE

Circles Of Life

The 143 best songs in the world

Robinince's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Meatless in Manchester

Spreading vegan love

Penny Veg

plant-based wholefoods on a budget

Realistic UK Vegetarian

...because "Hitler wasn't a vegetarian" was deemed too controversial

