A Class of Their Own – 6th July 2012

Well, Virgin excelled themselves today.  Forget any gripes I had yesterday.  Yes, I can be bought.

The day started with the husband waking me up at 4.30am.  We didn’t need to leave until after 7am, but that’s just him.  I was not happy.  Things got better.

After another free bus back to the airport (thanks again, National Express lady!), we arrived at the Virgin desk.  Our allocated seats from the previous day had been cancelled.  The flight was overbooked.  We were on standby.  I have to say the check-in person was lovely.  She turned a blind eye to our suitcase being 10kg overweight – phew.  We got some seats eventually and proceeded to duty free where we pottered around, sprayed on lots of smellies etc etc …. you know, the usual stuff that everyone does (don’t they?  Please tell me it’s not just us).  Eventually we proceeded to Boarding, thinking – this is actually going to happen.  We are going to live in the USA.  Then the call came over the tannoy.  Could we return to the boarding desk?  Buggeration, we thought, they’ve destroyed our luggage in a controlled explosion.  Well, apparently not.  Actually we were being bumped up to Upper Class.  Woop!  But did we mind that we couldn’t sit together?  Er …. No!!!  Who wouldn’t ditch their nearest and dearest for the chance of 8 hours of luxury at 36,000 feet?

I have to say I was not disappointed.  I’ve always loved the whole in-flight experience of having your own little Barbie cutlery etc, but this just takes it to a whole new level.  You get your own entertainment and relaxation pod with fold-flat bed (which I had to play with) and complimentary socks and duvet (always high on my list of priorities).  And you know that advice you sometimes read about dressing smartly in order to get an upgrade?  Take it from someone who was dressed in Primark trousers and cardi – it’s not necessary!

I must admit, I was surreptitiously watching other people for guidance at key points, but thanks to The Wedding Singer I already knew what the hot towel was for.

Lunch was preceded by an amuse bouche, which to all intents and purposes was cold mushy peas and a breadstick, but being served on posh china in Upper Class elevated it to something entirely different.  With the cheese course (a cheese course!!!  I know!!) I took the opportunity to sample the port, something I have never fancied before and I can see now I was right not to bother with.  Still, I finished it.  Well, it was free.

I met the husband at the bar for a drink (a bar!  On a plane!!  I know!!!) but for the most part I spent my time horizontal under my duvet on the nice fold-flat bed, drinking complimentary champagne and watching everything I could on the TV (I can highly recommend The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, if you haven’t seen it).  Unlike the man across the aisle who has clearly been in Upper Class too much, as he slept through most of the flight and all the meals.  Upper Class was clearly wasted on him.  Give it to people like me every time please Virgin – we truly appreciate it and make the most of it!

Categories: Travel | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

veganrunnernerd

My imperfect journey to a cruelty-free life

agurlontherun

Running is as simple as one foot in front of the other, but it's not easy

Laura Runs a Latte

Plant-Powered Running and Recipes - (m)EatLess, RunMore!

Amuse Your Bouche

Simple vegetarian recipes

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

WalkJogRun

Everything a runner needs

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Whole Family On A Budget

Family, Food, Love in style and grace.

sick of being a fat ass ...

I got sick of being a fat ass...so I did something about it...

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

Two Fat Vegetarians

Twee-free veggies

JACK MONROE

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP & MORE

Circles Of Life

The 143 best songs in the world

Robinince's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Meatless in Manchester

Spreading vegan love

Penny Veg

plant-based wholefoods on a budget

Realistic UK Vegetarian

...because "Hitler wasn't a vegetarian" was deemed too controversial

